The Gray House Book Club (all posts)

Some months ago, I wrotpute about a book that hunted me ever since I heard about it in  a documentary about Russian authors. 

SCHEDULE AND POSTS LINKS

WEEK ONE

Week 1: BOOK 1 (to pp.77)
Intro (untitled)
The Backyard: Interlude

WEEK 1 AUDIO:  cuts 1 – 7

WEEK TWO

Week 2 (pp. 94-146)
8. The House: Interlude
12. The House: Interlude

WEEK 2 AUDIO:  cuts 8 – 12

WEEK THREE

Week 3 (pp. 147-217)
Sphinx: Visiting the Sepulcher
Smoker: Pompey’s Last Stand

WEEK 3 AUDIO: cuts 13 – 17 (I added cut 18, since that’s Smoker: Pompey’s Last Stand.
I made a mistake this week, paper copy people had one more section than the audio. It is cut 18, Smoker: Pompey’s Last Stand.)

WEEK FOUR

Week 4: BOOK 2 (pp. 223-300)
Ralph: A Sideway’s Glance at Graffiti
Tabaqui: Day the Second

WEEK 4 AUDIO:  cuts 19 – 22 (18 is repeated here too, in case you listened to it this week)

Week 4 Additional post, chapter 23. The Confession of the Scarlet Dragon

WEEK FIVE

Week 5 (pp. 301-367)
The Confession of the Scarlet Dragon
Tabaqui: Day the Sixth

WEEK 5 AUDIO: cuts 24 – 31

WEEK SIX

Week 6 (pp. 368-445)
The House: Interlude
The Longest Night

WEEK 6 AUDIO: cuts 32 – 39

WEEK SEVEN

Week 7 (pp. 446-521)
Sphinx: The Longest Night
BOOK 3: The Abandoned Nests
Sphinx

WEEK 7: AUDIO: cuts 40- 41

WEEK EIGHT

Week 8 (pp. 522-604)
Red
Blind

WEEK 8 AUDIO: cuts 42 – 45

WEEK NINE

Week 9 (pp. 605-670)
Tabaqui
Smoker

WEEK 9 AUDIO: cuts 46 – 50

WEEK TEN

Week 10 (pp. 671-721)
Noble’s Tale
The Encounter

WEEK 10 AUDIO: cuts 51 – 63
ghbc (1)

What are you waiting for? Leave a comment and join us!

You can follow this discussion at Goodreads too!

12 thoughts on “The Gray House Book Club (all posts)

  1. Oh, congratulations on reading this amazing book.

    I don’t have a guide per se. My paper copy had the names listed, and in the chapters comments there’s some making those correlations, but it may take you some digging.

  2. I’ve been reading Gray House and found your site! Do you have anywhere a guide to the nickname evolution of the characters? I am trying to keep track of who had different nicks when they were younger, but would love to check it with other readers.

  3. Silvia,

    I wanted to thank you for sharing this with all of us. I really have enjoyed reading this book alongside you, hearing your thoughts and insights. It’s also been very useful to get a recap of what is going on throughout, which you provide. It has reading the book both more interesting and clear. It’s like I’m reading the book and have a friend to share details with. Never experienced anything like this before.

    Thank you so much for your hard work, and for sharing this with the world. I appreciate it, more than you know.

    -Mark B.

  4. Hi–I have read the blog and I am a big fan of the book. I can’t remember if this was discussed: Is Red’s old nick Death?

  5. Pingback: Reading with Kim | Silvia Cachia

Leave a comment