Ongoing Reading Log

This is my landing post for the books I am currently reading. Every year I delete the books I have been recording here, move them to a post with all that year books, and I start new. That is why you can see old comments relating to books you may not see here.

Currently Reading:

Northanger Abbey, Jane Austen

Daughter of Time, Josephine Tey

Staying Alive, edited by Neil Attley

Confesiones, Agustín

I’ve changed my reviewing method. This is a full star, , and this a half star,

★★★★ Not to miss, worth re-reading
★★★★    Books that surely have stayed with me.
★★★       Very enjoyable read, recommendable.
★★          Meh. Nothing remarkable.
★             Run.

The half star, , would make it closer to the higher category, an in-between of sorts.

Books Read:

  1. The Zelmenyaners, by Moyshe Kulbak. This is my review. ★★★★
  2. Las meditaciones del Quijote, Ortega y Gasset (re-read) ★★★★★
  3. Whose Body?, Dorothy Sayers (re-read) ★★
  4. From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler ★★★✫
  5. A Short History of Spain, Mary Platt Parmele ★★★✫
  6. Wuthering Heights, Emily Bronte ★★★★
  7. Night, Elie Wiesel, Marion Wiesel, ★★★✫
  8. Why Homer Matters, Adam Nicolson,  ★★★✫
  9. Madame Bovary, Flaubert ★★★★✫
  10. Intuitive Eating, Evelyn Tribole, Elyse Resch, ★★★★
  11. Parnassus on Wheels, by Christopher Morley ★★
  12. How to Be Alone, by Jonathan Franzen ★★★★
  13. The Hidding Place, Corrie tenBoom, ★★★★✫
  14. Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats by T.S. Eliot, Edward Gorey (Illustrator) ★★★★
  15. Elogio de la locura, Erasmo de Rotterdam ★★★★
  16. The Problem of Pain, C.S. Lewis ★★
  17. Are Women Human?, Dorothy Sayers ★★★★
  18. El avaro, Moliere ★★★★✫
  19. Hinds Feet in High Places, Hannah Hurnard, ★★
  20. Nazarín, Galdós ★★★★✫
  21. Belgravia, Jullian Fellows ★★ ✫
  22. The Princess Bride, Goldman ★★
  23. Grammarland, by M.L. Nesbitt
  24. Dr. Thorne, Trollope ★★★★
  25. El planeta de los simios, (The Planet of the Apes), Pierre Boulle, ★★★✫
  26. Pavilion of Women, Pearl S. Buck, ★★★✫
  27. La rebelion de las masas, Ortega y Gassett ★★★★
  28. The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics, Daniel James Brown ★★★✫
  29. The Rescue Artist, Dolnic, ★★★✫
  30. Candide, Voltaire ★★
  31. The Tempest, Shakespeare ★★★✫
  32. Zadig, Voltaire ★★★✫
  33. Hallucinations, Oliver Sacks ★★★✫
  34. The Curious Case of Benjamin Button and Other Stories,  F. Scott Fitzgerald ★★
  35. Animal Farm, Orwell ★★★✫
  36. Sonnets from the Portuguese, Browning  ★★★✫
  37. Brave New World,  Aldous Huxley ★★★ (re-read)
  38. Pyongyang, Guy Delisle, graphic novel, ★★★✫
  39. Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Lives in North Korea, by Barbara Demick ★★★★
  40. Los hermanos Karamazov, Dostoiewsky, ★★★★
  41. Muscle and a Shovel, Michael J. Shank ★★
  42. A Wrinkle in Time, L’Engle  ★★
  43. The Bronze Bow,  Elizabeth George Speare ★★★✫
  44. After You, Marco Polo, Jen Shor ★★
  45. Omon Ra., by Victor Pelevin, Translated from Russian by Yuri Machkasov ★★
  46. Guzman de Alfarache, by Mateo Alemán ★★★✫
  47. The Gray House ★★★★

Books I want to read:

  1. Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys
  2. A Grief Observed, C.S. Lewis
  3. P.G. Wodehouse, in His Own Words, by Barry Day
  4. Poetry (we’ll soon read together Robert Frost, and maybe I’ll add the Brownings
  5. More Trollope titles, The Way We Live Now.
  6. Another title by Galdós, probably La desheredada
  7. One or many McCall Smith books
  8. Continue reading Alan Bradley’s Flavia de Luce’s books with the girls
  9. The Joy of the Snow, by Elizabeth Goudge
  10. Man and Superman, play by George Bernard Shaw
  11. Diez siglos de poesia castellana / Ten Centuries of Spanish Poetry
  12. The Language of the Flowers, Vanessa Diffenbaugh
  13. A Voice in the Wind, Rivers
  14. Destiny of the Republic: A Tale of Madness, Medicine and Murder of a President by Candice Millard
  15. The Witch of Blackbird Pond, Elizabeth George Speare (Newbery Medal)

My list of Classics Club 5 Year Challenge:

These is my list of classics, and my deadline is March 2022. (Wow, it sounds so far away!)

ADDITIONS will have “added +” at the end, and those titles abandoned will show like this

  1. Confesiones, Agustín de Hipona, 397 – 400 added +
  2. The Frogs, Aristophanes, 405
  3. Beowulf, Heaney’s translation, between 975 and 1025
  4. La Celestina, Fernando de Rojas, 1499
  5. Guzmán de Alfarache, Mateo Alemán. 1599  added +
  6. Utopia, Thomas More, 1516
  7. Henry V, Shakespeare, 1600
  8. Otelo, Shakespeare, 1603
  9. Pascal Pensees and Other Writtings, 1670
  10. Gargantúa y Pantagruel, François Rabelais, cc 1694 added +
  11. Candide, Voltaire, 1759 added +
  12. Northanger Abbey, Jane Austin, 1803
  13. Persuasion, Jane Austin, 1817
  14. Tales of the Alhambra, Washington Irving, 1832
  15. Sonnets from the Portuguese, Elizabeth Browning poetry, mid 1845-46 added +
  16. The Scarlet Letter, Hawthorne *re-read, 1850
  17. The House of the Seven Gables by Nathaniel Hawthorne, 1851
  18. North and South, Gaskell, 1855
  19. Fathers and Sons, Turgenev, 1862
  20. Far from the Madding Crowd, Hardy, 1874 added +
  21. La familia de León Roch, Galdós, 1878
  22. Washington Square, Henry James, 1880
  23. Los hermanos Karamazov, by Dostoevsky, 1880
  24. Los Pazos de Ulloa, Emilia Pardo Bazán, 1886
  25. La muerte de Ivan Illich, Tolstoy, 1886
  26. Miau, Galdós, 1888
  27. Hambre, Knut Hamsun
  28. The Prisoner of Zenda, Anthony Hope, 1894
  29. The Scarlett Pimpernel, by Emmuska Orczy, 1905
  30. The House of Mirth, Edith Wharton, 1905 added + 
  31. Por el camino de Swan, Proust, 1913
  32. My Antonia, Willa Cather, 1918
  33. The Cross, (book III in the Kristin Lavransdatter trilogy), 1922
  34. The Curious Case of Benjamin Button and Other Stories, Fitzgerald, 1922 added +
  35. La montaña mágica, Thomas Mann, *re-read, 1924
  36. The Glorious Adventure, Halliburton, 1927
  37. To the Lighthouse, Woolf, 1927
  38. Gaudy Night, Dorothy Sayers, 1935 added +
  39. Cheerfulness Breaks In, by Angela Thirkell, 1940
  40. The Mind of the Maker, Dorothy Sayers, *re-read, 1941
  41. Pavilon of Women, by Pearl S. Buck, 1946
  42. Kon Tiki, by Thor Heyerdahl, 1948
  43. The Daughter of Time, Josephine Tey, 1951
  44. Speak Memory, Nabokov, 1951
  45. East of Eden, Steinbeck, 1952 added +
  46. After You, Marco Polo, Jen Shor, 1955 added +
  47. Alfanhui, Sanchez Ferlosio, Rafael, 1955
  48. El Jarama, Ferlosio, Rafael Sanchez, 1956
  49. The Baron in the Trees, Italo Calvino, 1957 added +
  50. Mother Night, Vonnegut, 1961
  51. The Moviegoer, Walker Percy, 1961
  52. One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich, Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn, 1962
  53.  The Scent of Water, Goudge, 1963
  54. A Movable Feast, Ernest Heminway, 1964 added +
  55. The Rector of Justin, by Louis Auchincloss, 1964
  56. Ten Fingers for God, by Dorothy Clarke Wilson, Philip Yancey, 1965
  57. Tres Tristes Tigres, Guillermo Cabrera Infante, 1965 added +
  58. Silence by Shusaku, Endo 1966

I prefer to leave my list of classics to books around 50+ years old, but these are additional titles that will soon be classics, or that are considered modern classics (I know).

  1. The Endless Steppe: Growing Up in Siberia, by Esther Hautzig, 1967
  2. A Circle of Quiet, L’Engle, 1971
  3. Watership Down, Richard Adams, 1972
  4. Meditations on Hunting, Ortega y Gasset, 1972
  5. Shogun, Clavell, 1975
  6. The Brendan Voyage, by Tim Severin, 1978
  7. Number the Stars, by Lois Lowry, 1989
  8. Olvidado Rey Gudú, Ana María Matute 1996
  9. La ciudad de las bestias, Isabel Allende, 2002
  10. The Scarlet Letters, by Louis Auchincloss, 2003
  11. Home, Marilyn Robinson, 2008
  12. La casa de los otros, (The Grey House), Mariam Petrosyan, 2009
17 comments on “Ongoing Reading Log

  1. I thoroughly enjoyed Glimpses of the Moon when I read it several years ago. After a certain point in the reading I had mixed feelings about moving ahead. What if it ended the way I was afraid it would end? But maybe it would end the way I'd hoped it would end. I became so involved in the characters lives that I was afraid to move on! LOL But I did… I'll be anxious to read your take on it.

    I'm having trouble making decisions on the books I'll read in this challenge. Some of the categories are difficult for me, like the volume of short stories. All of my volumes are humongous! I wonder if we can read individual short stories from several books or from online and have it work for the category.

    Like

  2. So you're reading Paradise Lost. That one intimidates me for some reason. I don't know why. Maybe it's because it's epic poetry…and long. 🙂 What do you think of it so far?

    I tried to read Emma once and ended up setting it aside. At some point, I ought to pick up another Austen book.

    I've read To Kill a Mockingbird. There is some difficult content matter as well as some language…but it is very well-written. I'm glad I read it. I read this when my oldest daughter read it for high school reading and we discussed it together. I'd like to read the follow-up called Go Set a Watchman. It's on my to-read list for this year.

    Like

  3. Linda.

    I bet your plan would work, if you read an x number of short stories, why not?
    (I just finished with a contact seller email, because my betterworld book order of three books, -one of them five short stories from different Spanish Golden Era authors-, is not arrived yet, and it's over the expected time. The other two books are Makioka Sisters -the one for non Western category, and Historia de la Eternidad by Borges, an essay about time -I have not placed that one in any category, but I might, 🙂

    So you loved Glimpses… that's what Karen at Books and Chocolate says. So far I'm just at the beginning (since the first local book club, The Winter Sea, -such a wonderful title too-, is a lengthy book and it's for February). But I'm loving it, and it reads familiar. Not the rich style, but the plot. Karen is right, it's a bit like Breakfast at Tiffany's, even like Gatsby. I did not know there was a time in which some people lived a lot from other better positioned and richer friends. Not servants, but surely patronized companions.

    I hope to see your 2016 list up soon.

    Karen!
    Paradise Lost, yes, reading with Ambleside Online book club ladies. I've read book 1, and it's not “that impossible”. With my bit of biblical knowledge, I'm happy I get some references to Leviathan, Goshen, Baal, Moloch… he is simply talking about the fall of men. I think school has put in our heads some reads are unattainable. That's because PL is so rich, but I'm reading for pleasure and to learn, not to exhaust or haunt for all the possible references college like. Tee hee.

    At the local book club, the new Emma version was suggested, and our leader, wisely, said, “if we are reading the retelling, we are reading Emma first”. I had heard it goes to a point that it drags, so I thought, “what better time than to read supported by a book club”. And I voted then for both books.

    To Kill a… I've always wanted to read. It was along with the Watchman book suggested for our local book club, but it did not get voted on. Our leader said it's interesting in order to compare them two, etc., but that it's just an ok book, not a great title such as To Kill. People get disappointed, but she wasn't, just because she understands the place Watchman had in Harper's life. I'm also excited about To Kill because out of my 4 proposed books, only In Cold Blood made it, but I think they say Harper made it in the book, because she was friends or acquaintance of Capote.

    Like

  4. I was just recently made aware of this series of books of Austen's works rewritten in modern context. One of Anne's (of Modern Mrs. Darcy) books that she's reading this year is the modern retelling of Pride and Prejudice. Reading her post with her picks for this year is where I first heard of this series of books. I've read part of the original Pride and Prejudice and of course, I've seen I think every movie production of the novel. I tried to read Emma, but I couldn't get into it. It seemed, ummm, maybe a bit wordy? I'm thinking of trying to tackle an Austen novel this year. I've watched movie productions of I'd say most of her works (maybe all?).

    Regarding Go Set a Watchman…after I left my comment here, I've been hearing more reviews of the book and there's those saying that not only did they not care for it much, but I've heard some say it kind of ruins their views of characters in To Kill a Mockingbird. So I'm torn….do I read it and see for myself? Or do I not read it since I liked To Kill a Mockingbird??? Decisions…decisions…..

    Like

  5. Yes, that's right (Anne is re-reading one of those called fan fiction books). Ahem, I am not that fired up for Austen, cough- but nothing like a book club to make it to Emma and the retelling. I'll let you know. I don't shy from wordy, but I'm not sure what I will think. I'll be sharing.

    It's not “ruining” it, but I also heard it's a more realistic and different view of the character. The character in Watchman was not developed, it was a different view. I'll see it for myself. If you are a To Kill a M… fan, knowing more about the author, etc., cannot be a bad experience. But I could also give you arguments not to read Watchman, ha ha ha. I'm a people's pleaser (have you noticed? heh!), and I also adapt and change my views according to what others I love think.

    Like

  6. Sillvia, you will love, love, love Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie. And then you will want to give it to your girls. Plucky pre-teen heroine solving mysteries in Victorian England. If there's a YA series I can get behind this decade it's the Flavia de Luce mystery series. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I LOVE looking at book lists Sylvia…thanks for sharing! I just finished reading The Hobbit and intend to link it under category #7 in the Back to the Classics Challenge.

    Like

  8. Kathy W. My girls are already head over hills with Flavia de Luce. I bought the first book, and we are half way there. I adore the book and I'm so glad it's a series. And they are quality. I dig ALL the references to books, art, life! It's charming, sassy, so good.

    Melissa, good link! You have #7 already! (I am reading Paradise Lost in a few months, with the AO bookclub, and I'm half way with Glimpses of the Moon -a short one-). I also love book lists, tee hee.

    Like

  9. I loved Cry the Beloved Country & Catch 22 ~ 2 very different novels. I am really interested in Daughters of the Samurai ~ only I want someone else to read it first & give me an opinion before I go to all the bother of tracking it down. 🙂 I liked Mann when I read him but read Machiavelli in college & sad to say cannot now recall a word of it.

    Like

  10. You will love Daughters of the Samurai, I am half way there. It's non fiction very well written. East and West, two codes of living, a remarkable era (1820-end of century)

    Like

  11. The Great Divorce is one of my favorite Lewis non-fictions. I love, Love, LOVE that book. Lewis' image of a soul being too light to feel at home in heaven combined with a scene from Anne of (Green Gables? the next one in the series?) where her giddy, silly young friend is dying and she confesses to Anne that she doesn't want to go to Heaven, because she can't imagine feeling at home there. Anne goes home very somber, thinking about what it means to live a life that would make us at home in heaven. Those two images have shaped something precious in my soul.

    What did you think of it?

    Cheers,
    Sarah

    Like

  12. I also LOVE LOVE The Great Divorce. My life changing scene is the woman who loves the child more than heaven, and little did I know that was going to take this added dimension after the health crisis of my precious girl. I need to read number two in the Anne series.

    I also read An Experiment in Criticism. It was a.ma.zing. Lewis is a wonderful writer of fiction, non fiction, and in between.

    Like

    • You know what? Go back to blogging on your own terms! I love it, if only for the lists, (and you all comment frequently, but even if I never got comments, I’d still love to pour my thoughts AND lists in here, ha ha ha).

      Like

Leave a Reply

