dead-end memories

Dead-end memories, stories by Banana Joshimoto, 2022.

This was a very enjoyable read, very relatable. Five stories make up the 221 pages of this comfortable paperback edition that I was gifted. I’m very spoiled these days with friends that give me books that they have mostly read themselves. This one in particular is a gift from my friend Janakay. I appreciate her post it notes on all the books she sends my way, telling me about her thoughts so that we can compare notes.

What caught my attention the most was her restraint and gentle writing style. I couldn’t say with certainty, since my reading experience is limited, but I have noticed that some contemporary authors like Yoshimoto are able to blend what we’d consider a very uneventful life experience with situations that speak of the darkness of being human, the difficulties of life and work, of becoming an adult, and do it with elegant simplicity. And the people in the book and the places, their behavior, despite of being clearly Japanese, reads very close to what I observe and experience in my own corner of the world.

I’m glad I was able to read this book during my spring break, it was worth the time. I do believe the protagonists and the stories will stay with me long.

4 thoughts on “dead-end memories

Leave a comment