Classics Book Tag

I just feel like doing this to end up a nice Friday in which I’ve discovered a few new to me blogs of people who love books, a day in which I’ve also conversed with some of those book lovers through the comment section.

Here it is, I’ll be answering to these ten questions:

1. An over-hyped classic you never really liked:

The Great Gatsby

maxresdefault

It’s not exactly that I don’t like it, it’s just that I think it’s become an icon beyond what it is as a book. Plus I cannot stomach Daisy. I know that’s totally an opinion nobody cares about, but this questionnaire I’m filling its just that, my opinions.

2. Favorite time period to read about:

1800’s to 1900’s, probably.

3. Favorite fairy tale:

Ali Baba and the 40 Thieves. I’ve always loved all the stories in the 1001 Arabian Nights.

4. What is the most embarrassing classic you have not read?

Many… I haven’t read anything by Dumas, or Henry James, oh, I got it, Little Women.

5. Top five classics you want to read:

Gargantua and Pantagruel,

A Movable Feast,

The House of Mirth,

house2bof2bmirth

To the Lighthouse,

Pale Fire.

6. Favorite modern book or series based on a classic:

Poirot

70208060

7. Favorite movie version or TV series based on a classic:

This has to be a tie, I love The Name of the Rose and The Remains of the Day

the-name-of-the-rose-543d57721a097

1004374160-fl_sar_colsrife20b
8. Worst classic to movie adaptation:

The Giver. The movie is unable to capture the atmosphere of the book. Somethings are meant for reading and pondering, when you try to materialize them in a visual way, they fall too short of what they try to inspire. While the movie had an intriguing aesthetic to it, and visual intrigue, it doesn’t deliver the layers and depth of the book (or should I say the full 4 books in this series).

the-giver-film-adaptation-2014

9. Favorite editions you would like to collect more of:

In Spanish, I love the paperbacks from Alianza Editorial,

alianza

In English, I love the hardcovers from Knopf,

knopf

10. An under-hyped classic:

Apart from Don Quixote, most (if not all) classics written by Spaniards are, in my opinion, under-hyped. Anything by Galdós is under-hyped. But I’m going to pick Moliere, his Tartuffe.

le-tartuffe

I found this classics tag here.

13 thoughts on “Classics Book Tag

Add yours

  1. Hello Silvia!
    I hope that House of Mirth is next on your TBR pile since you highlighted 3 of its covers – it’s my second favourite Wharton (Age of Innocence being my fav – actually that’s another movie adaptation that is as good as the book and certainly visually sumptuous!)

    The Great Gatsby is a tricky one. I think I only came to love it as much as I do thanks to studying it at school – for me, learning more about it and going into the meaning in a deeper way actually helped with this one. I also have a bit of thing for the Jazz Age, so it will always attract me for that.

    I’m hoping you have some reviews/responses/thoughts on your Spanish classics as I’m intrigued to know more.

    Delighted that you popped by 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice list! I agree particularly on the Poirot series withe David Suchet as a perfect adaptation of the Christie novels and short stories. I also love the Miss Marple series with Joan Hickson.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really like The Great Gatsby, but on multiple occasions I’ve seen it touted as the most beautiful book ever written, and I have to admit that leaves me scratching my head.

    Like

    1. I always feel guilty after criticizing a classic. I couldn’t think of a title so Gatsby it was, but the more I say I dislike it, the more I regret it, strange, no? (I agree with you, to say it’s the most beautiful book ever written doesn’t sound right, lol).

      Like

      1. It doesn’t sound right, but I went back and looked up my favourite quote this morning, and it IS quite beautifully written, hah.

        I also feel silly criticising a classic. I tend to always lean towards it being me and not the book in those situations.

        Liked by 1 person

    2. The most beautiful book ever written on Gone with the Wind. 🙂

      (Ok, there are many beautiful books.)

      I like the last few lines of The Great Gatsby, but I wouldn’t say it’s the most beautiful book ever written. Those last lines do bring it all together quite nicely though.) 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. A lot of that novel is very beautifully written. I looked up my favourite quote from the last time I read it, where he’s in the back of the car and finds himself anxious about turning 30 and what those changes will mean for him, and now I’m slightly reconsidering my answer. 🙂

        I don’t think I could pick a top book, really.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. LOL, now I’m reconsidering stating it as a classic I’ve never liked, ha ha ha.
    Yes, many beautiful books, Jillian, and so many of them to discover!

    Like

  5. yes, yes, yes to #1. It is way too hyped. I didn’t really like it. I really disliked Gatsby. Name of the Rose was one of my favorite books last year, so I now look forward to seeing the film adaptation.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

