Planet of the Apes, a book review

104-1

Planet of the Apes, by Pierre Boulle
Published in 1963, 128 pages, Science Fiction
My Rating, ★★★✫

Did you know that Planet of the Apes was a book?

I didn’t.

Until we went to watch a play production of Charlotte’s Webb, and my friend Tara told me she had loved this book.

I read it in Spanish, El planeta de los simios. The novel was originally written in French, by the author of The Bridge Over the River Kwai. Since it was published longer than 50 years ago, I thought it’d be a perfect candidate for the category of a classic with an animal in the title, or about an animal.

I enjoyed the book. It’s different to the first movie. Boulle did not write any further books, but this title has spurned lots of adaptations and sequels. One of them is coming to our theaters this summer.

I enjoyed the thought provoking questions the book arises. It reads, though, as a short tale, designed to surprise us, and it does surprise. I would not have minded more development of the topic, though, more pages, more story. I was just getting attached to the characters when the book ended. Sigh. I think it’s a great book for a book discussion in high school, or a book club.

I may read The Bridge Over the River Kwai. I’ve watched that movie long ago, but it’s a classic, and the theme, with the whistles, once I remember it, doesn’t want to leave me for a day or two!

4 thoughts on “Planet of the Apes, a book review

Add yours

  1. Didn’t know it was a book either…I remember seeing the movie years ago. And at just a little over 100 pages, it seems like a light read compared to some of our other novels 🙂

    Like

  2. I think you both will love it, Karen and Kim.
    Kim, I wanted it to be longer, ha ha ha, but I felt compelled to read it because it was very short!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

