Unleavened Bread

A few weeks ago, I baked unleavened bread just because. I followed this recipe here  with some changes. We loved it, but it was too buttery, more like shortbread (which I love) than unleavened bread.

Last week I baked it again, and I made some changes. I love the way it turned out. I prefer it to the original recipe.

Ingredients
2 cups flour
¼ cup brown sugar
¾ cup (12 Tbsp.) melted unsalted butter CHANGED TO: 1/4 water, 1/4 butter, 1/4 olive oil
¼ cup water
2 Tbsp. honey
A pinch of salt

Instructions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
Mix all ingredients together. No electric mixer necessary.
Prepare a flour-lined space to knead and roll out dough until it is ½-inch thick.
Place dough onto a greased cookie sheet and bake for 17 minutes at 350 degrees F.
Let cool, and slice into strips. ANOTHER SMALL CHANGE: I baked it in my round pizza pan, and I did not grease it, but the bread came out perfect. I rolled it in the pan too, stretching it to the desired thickness. I made small incisions with fork, and some lines with a butter knife.

3 comments on “Unleavened Bread

Leave a Reply

