Back to the Classics 2016, Wrap Up Post

I wasn’t aware that Karen at Books and Chocolate, the host of the Back to the Classics Challenge, does have a Wrap Up Post for those who have finished the 2016 challenge. I have! Will I join the 2017 Challenge? It’s hard to say. I’ve participated in this challenge twice now, and around December/January, when Karen posts the 12 challenge categories and others start blogging and posting their tentative lists, I cannot help but wanting to join in. I also get to read what others read during 2016, and I have some friends who do the challenge too, and it’s quite lovely to read the reviews throughout the year.

Back to wrapping up the classics challenge. A few of my book club titles double as classics titles. I read the 12 books, and fo some categories, I even read more than one book.

1.  A 19th Century Classic –
1.a Emma by Jane Austen.
1.b El amigo manso, by Galdós.

2.  A 20th Century Classic –  Cry, the Beloved Country, by Alan Paton. It was first published in 1948. If I run out of time, I’d swoop this for my book club title,

I read Catch 22 instead. I absolutely loved this title. It’s one of the best books I’ve ever read.

3.  A classic by a woman author.
3.a The Glimpses of the Moon,Edith Wharton
3.b A Tree Grows in Brooklyn.

4.  A classic in translation.  The Prince, Machiavelli. I changed it for
Farewell to Arms by Heminway in Spanish.Yes, I’m that weird.

5.  A classic by a non-white author. Can be African-American, Asian, Latino, Native American, etc.

5.a  Makioka Sisters, Tanizaki, Junichiro.
I also listened to
5.b El Coronel no tiene quien le escriba, which could also go in this category.
5.c El arte de la guerra (The Art of War), by Sun Tzu.

6.  An adventure classic – Tom Sawyer, or Adventures with a Texas Naturalist (not so much a ‘known classic’, but hey, it was written and published in 1947 by Roy Bedichek).
I didn’t read any of those, instead, I read aloud to my family:
6.a Wild Animals I Have Known by Seton, Ernest Thompson, 1898
6. b and Around the World in 72 Days, by Nellie Bly. 

7.  A fantasy, science fiction, or dystopian classic. I will re-read any of this: 1984, Brave New World, or Fahrenheit 451. I ended up re-reading my adolescence favorite title:
El fin de la eternidad’, by Asimov.

8.  A classic detective novel.
8.a The Nine Tailors, Dorothy Sayers. (Because it’s a title I owe, and it will be my second title with Lord Peter and Harriet Vane.) 

There is a book I want to read in this category, but I don’t owe it (why is it all the books I don’t have are the ones I desperately want to read), it’s by a Swedish Swiss (thanks to the person who told me in the comments) author, and I’ve heard they deal with this genre in a very different way we are used to. I don’t know if I’ll end up getting it). I‘ve added The Pledge, Durrenmatt, Friedrich (but I finished it in December!) I ended up reading,
8.b In Cold Blood, by Truman Capote.

9.  A classic which includes the name of a place in the title.  The House of Seven Gables by Nathaniel Hawthorne. I change it to
9.a Paradise Lost to this category.
9.b I also  read  Middlemarch, by George Eliot. 

10. A classic which has been banned or censored.
To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee. The reasons for it to be banned are the racial content, profanity, and references to rape have caused many to challenge the book and have the novel removed from school libraries and classrooms. It may not be suited for children.

11. Re-read a classic you read in school (high school or college).
La metamorfosis y otros relatos, Frank Kafka.

12. A volume of classic short stories.
I read 22 Great Classic Stories, Unabridged.

3 thoughts on “Back to the Classics 2016, Wrap Up Post

  1. Oh well done, Silvia. I have Augustine's Confessions to finish – I've been reading it slowly all year and have just started another title for the non-white author. I think I'll do this one again next year but drop some of my other challenges. We'll see.

    Like

  2. Congratulations on completing all 12 categories! I like how your final list evolved from the original. That type of fluidity is one reason why I like Karen's challenge so much.

    I have done all the reading as well, but I still have to post my wrap up post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

