My Cup Runneth Over

 

 

 

 

I have so much I’d love to share, so many feelings, thoughts, ideas, that I don’t even know where to start.

My Cup Runneth Over.

My heart overflows with love and gratitude.

We endured three hospital admissions for my oldest daughter in this past month and a half. I wanted to complain about many things, to vent about the pain, the procedures, the bad state of medicine in my beloved country. But I waited a bit, and I’m glad I did. If I complain about the bad, then I would have to give up the good that exists alongside, and I don’t want to do that. There’s been so much good in her life, in our lives. After some time I realize if I keep talking about all the negative things we’ve faced, all the pain my daughter suffered, our memory of this will stay negative, and talking about it that way would always be as reopening a wound. I prefer to remember this as a challenging time that brought lots of blessings to our attention.

Yesterday we went to Galveston. The day was a gift. Even as I was living it, I already knew it’d be a special day in our life. The breeze, the sun, the sea, the sand, the beauty we soaked in, all the flavors, salt, fish, ice-cream. We came back and I held tight to a brown bag with chocolate raisins I savored, and I felt a rush of joy and peace.

Friends write me messages, emails, and I write to them. Prayers are lifted, books read, clothes washed, meals are cooked and appreciated. A small life such as mine is grand to live. I’m learning to listen. It’s still very hard, but it’s possible even for me. I believe that the recent health challenges we’ve faced have taught me a lesson or two. This year I know I’ve planned the most simple plans ever yet the riches abound. If you ask Him, you’ll receive. He’ll teach us to be content and to know how to look and listen. As a dear friend says, sometimes all we can do it’s to be faithful to do the daily.

1 John 5:14 And this is the confidence that we have toward him, that if we ask anything according to his will he hears us.

4 comments on “My Cup Runneth Over

  1. Your post is so encouraging! The honesty and transparency, the choosing to focus on gratitude in the middle of life and all that it brings. Trusting in Jesus, one day at a time, one foot in front of the other. It's a lesson for all of us.

    Thank you for this reminder!

    Like

Leave a Reply

