A bit of nature study

My drawing is of a bald cypress tree. How do I know? First, Heather told me those trees were cypress trees, and those flaring buttresses are, as I copied from the book on trees below, “prolonged into the main roots, which form humps that rise out of the water at some distance from the tree. These “cypress knees” are not yet explained, though authorities suspect that they have something to do with the aeration of the root system.”
I was surprised to find that his books are still available, free for kindle, or at good prices for some hardcovers or soft cover reprints.
I’ve become fond of observing and drawing nature myself. My friends help me by doing these walks together in their company. Some Facebook groups are very helpful to identify plants and birds. I like to scroll those groups and I’ve seen some plants (like a skunk cabbage, -simplocarpus foetidus) only to hear it mentioned in one of our reads (Wild Animals I Have Known) that same week!
The drawing was from our latest walk with Heather and her children. All our children observed, they also drew, but Heather and I stayed drawing the longest. I also continued my study at home with the Trees book.

 

Yesterday I bought a white sketch big spiral journal with paper thicker than normal but not waterproof, for I plan to start writing about nature and sketching with pencils in it. If I do a watercolor, I plan to do it on a loose piece of paper and clip it or add it to the journal.

 

 

These two last pictures were taken that same day with my phone. Cast down days are perfect for any photography you can do. The great egret was majestic. This paragraph from All About Birds describes it beautifully,

The elegant Great Egret is a dazzling sight in many a North American wetland. Slightly smaller and more svelte than a Great Blue Heron, these are still large birds with impressive wingspans. They hunt in classic heron fashion, standing immobile or wading through wetlands to capture fish with a deadly jab of their yellow bill. Great Egrets were hunted nearly to extinction for their plumes in the late nineteenth century, sparking conservation movements and some of the first laws to protect birds.

 

This is a Muscovy Duck, also known as Pato Criollo or Pato Casero in Spanish (backyard duck). I had never thought about trying to find out all the different kind of ducks we have at our local park. In our new read, Naming Nature, there’s been two days devoted to ducks, and I’m finding them pretty interesting. That’s the beauty of nature, one day I’m not seeing anything in particular, another day I start on a rabbit trail and start classifying wild flowers around me, or the ducks, or the lizards through my friends Heather and Rebecca who found Carolina anole lizard and Texas spiny lizards respectively, and shared videos and photos on Facebook.

One comment on “A bit of nature study

  1. This is beautiful, Silvia! I'll be using it as a sort of guide for our nature study soon. I ordered some water colors and water color paper to give this a try this summer when the days are a bit slower. We'll see what we find and how it goes 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

