Colorado Retreat, CMER, Part I

Did you go to Colorado, Silvia?

Yes, indeed.

Actually, I flew to Colorado with Heather.

What did you do in Colorado?

I went to a retreat for Charlotte Mason homeschooling moms. Not only. I did a presentation about heritage and education too.

With the exception of our last summer small and refreshing retreat at Wimberly, Texas, I had never participated in any retreat or conference that had to do with education and homeschooling. You see, as a homeschooling mom, I’m a one salary family person, that of my husband, and these events have to take place in resorts that are not expensive themselves, but many times make it expensive for us, housewives and moms without our own income, to participate in them. We also are always spending our money and resources in our family. We have to buy the books, supplies, pay for music and extra activities from our own pocket, classes we want them to take with teachers other than us, and to spend ALL that on ourselves, seems impossible or just painful.

But this was not just something for ourselves. Let me explain. Charlotte Mason said that education is an atmosphere, a discipline, a life. The atmosphere she is alluding to, it’s not a manipulated and contrived environment, but it’s who we are, what we value, and what’s present in our homes. It’s by us being of the way we are that the atmosphere is set. It’s by us acting the way we act, that our children and others are seeing our values and beliefs at work.

At the retreat, there were wonderful ladies, young and older, from their twenties into their fifties. We were all moms, and expecting moms were there too. Moms of twins, moms of only children, moms of 6, 7 children, and all numbers in between. Some from Colorado, California, New Mexico, Texas, and some raised here or abroad (like Istanbul). Some came from a military background, or were former college, high school or elementary teachers, (one lady had taught in Tarsus, Turkey) physicists, professional photographers, engineers, professional flamenco dancers, artists, or just moms without any particularly fancy past or present, but who are doing the most important work in life, taking care of their families. Every face I saw was beautiful, every soul I shared with was courageous, every heart a warm one. Real women who read, pray, cook, bake, learn, knit, plot, worship, laugh, and love.

This was just an intro to a series of posts I’ll be writing about the retreat, what was offered in it, what we did. Every mom should have a time like this, I don’t know how often, I wish it could be every year, or every two. And if you can’t attend something such as this, I encourage you to find some community, locally or through the Internet, but find those kindred souls, find support. Don’t ever feel alone, because you are not.

Ephesians 3:17-19

English Standard Version (ESV)

so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith—that you, being rooted and grounded in love,
may have strength to comprehend with all the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth, and to know the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled with all the fullness of God.

2 thoughts on “Colorado Retreat, CMER, Part I

Add yours

  1. Hooray, I'm glad you're doing this, Silvia! I didn't realize you had a blog until Celeste told me you were writing a series about the CO retreat. I subscribed and I'll be looking forward to future posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

