Back to the Classics, 2016 Challenge

Linda, I cannot believe I’m here! I thought I would not want to do a challenge again (since at one point in the year I just wanted to read what I wanted to read, 🙂 ). But the friends, the lists, the thrill, were too hard to resist. I love book lists, even if to just get excited with the possibilities.

Another picture of my dear friend Heather’s books

Back to the Classics 2016

COMPLETED 1.  A 19th Century Classic – Any (or many, -grin) books by Galdós, probably Miau. I ended up reading

1.Emma by Jane Austen.

COMPLETED 2.  A 20th Century Classic –  Cry, the Beloved Country, by Alan Paton. It was first published in 1948. If I run out of time, I’d swoop this for my book club title,

2.  I’ve read Catch 22

COMPLETED 3.  A classic by a woman author.

3. The Glimpses of the Moon,Edith Wharton

COMPLETED 4.  A classic in translation.  The Prince, Machiavelli. I changed it for

4. Farewell to Arms by Heminway in Spanish.Yes, I’m that weird.

COMPLETED 5.  A classic by a non-white author. Can be African-American, Asian, Latino, Native American, etc. 

5.a  Makioka Sisters, Tanizaki, Junichiro.

I also listened to

5.b El Coronel no tiene quien le escriba, which could also go in this category.

COMPLETED 6.  An adventure classic – Tom Sawyer, or Adventures with a Texas Naturalist (not so much a ‘known classic’, but hey, it was written and published in 1947 by Roy Bedichek). I read to my family

6.a Wild Animals I Have Known by Seton, Ernest Thompson, 1898 

6. b and Around the World in 72 Days, by Nellie Bly.

COMPLETED 7.  A fantasy, science fiction, or dystopian classic. I will re-read any of this: 1984, Brave New World, or Fahrenheit 451. I ended up re-reading my adolescence favorite title: 

7. El fin de la eternidad’, by Asimov.

COMPLETED 8.  A classic detective novel. The Nine Tailors, Dorothy Sayers. (Because it’s a title I owe, and it will be my second title with Lord Peter and Harriet Vane.) There is a book I want to read in this category, but I don’t owe it (why is it all the books I don’t have are the ones I desperately want to read), it’s by a Swedish Swiss (thanks to the person who told me in the comments) author, and I’ve heard they deal with this genre in a very different way we are used to. I don’t know if I’ll end up getting it). I‘ve added The Pledge, Durrenmatt, Friedrich (but I finished it in December!) I ended up reading,

8. In Cold Blood, by Truman Capote.

COMPLETED 9.  A classic which includes the name of a place in the title.  The House of Seven Gables by Nathaniel Hawthorne. I love Hawthorne’s Scarlet Letter and his books for children, so it’s time I give him more attention. I’m moving

9.a Paradise Lost to this category. 

9.b I also  read  Middlemarch, by George Eliot. 

COMPLETED 10. A classic which has been banned or censored. 

10. To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee. The reasons for it to be banned are the racial content, profanity, and references to rape have caused many to challenge the book and have the novel removed from school libraries and classrooms. It may not be suited for children.

COMPLETED 11. Re-read a classic you read in school (high school or college). 

11. La metamorfosis y otros relatos, Frank Kafka.

I may be more ambitious and read The Magic Mountain by Thomas Mann again, I don’t know what 2016 will bring.

COMPLETED 12. A volume of classic short stories. The Martian Chronicles, by Bradbury. This one could go in the fantasy category. I started reading it again, but stopped at a few pages, so I’ll wait for 2016 and read it for this category, or do ’10 Cuentos’ by Borges.

12. I read 22 Great Classic Stories, Unabridged.

And this is my 2016 Back to the Classics WRAP UP POST.

16 thoughts on “Back to the Classics, 2016 Challenge

Add yours

  1. I waited for you to put your list up but… you were too slow 😉 I suppose I'll have to pick up some of these titles at another time. I had thought about Cry, the Beloved Country but went with Fahrenheit 451 for this category.
    Hmm, Dorothy Sayers for the detective novel… I haven't picked one for this category yet. I was going with Agatha Christie since I've never read any. But what is the title by a Swedish author you were thinking of?
    I'm very much looking forward to this!

    Like

  2. I look forward to hearing your thoughts on #3. And I am curious about the Swedish author as well. Mystery us a favorite genre of mine but I've found I have to be more selective of choices now that I have kids. My mama heart can't take too much!

    Like

  3. Blossom, I'd read Murder at the Orient Express. Christie has lots of titles, and not all are the same good, imo. Some fans love everything by her, I have read only 3 of her titles, started a 4th-the Nile title-, I did not like it as much as the other titles, so I abandoned it, but she is very entertaining and not dark. Murder at… is a good one, imo. Lately I'm favoring Sawyers, I don't know, both are safe detective writers, fine for moms, Mackenzie, -I know what you mean. I'm a bit scared but highly intrigued about that Swedish author, his name is Durrenmatt, Friedrich. I read a good review of one of his titles translated into Spanish, but I cannot find it here in the States, all I find are lots of his plays, and this title, Pledge. But I'm a bit scared for the reasons you mention, Mackenzie. A friend of mine likes Swedish detective/mysteries authors -apparently it's a popular genre for writers of this nationality. What intrigues me is the 'different treatment' this blogger talked about, where there is not much psychological analysis of the characters, not a fast paced plot, but where chance, events, and situations, change the whole thing. It's like you know the murderer first thing, and it gets complicated from that point on for some reason. I found that genius.

    Like

  4. Great list! I read The Glimpses of the Moon for this challenge a couple of years ago and LOVED it, so I look forward to reading your review! I can also recommend The Makioka Sisters by Junichiro Tanizaki if you're looking for the non-white author category. It's about four Japanese sisters at the start of WWII, and I think it's just wonderful. A little long, but a great story.

    And great idea about Dorothy Sayers! I hadn't decided on my detective novel yet so that's definitely on my list. I've never read any of her books and that would be a perfect choice.

    Thanks for signing up for the challenge!

    Like

  5. Oh, Karen! What a nice surprise to have you stopping by and commenting.

    The Wharton title intrigued me when I read Mackenzie's review. You know? My dear friend Sherry added this title to her 2016 tbr, she wants to read Asian and Germans too this year. Your comment tipped the scales into its favor, so The Makioka Sisters it is for my non white author category. I cannot wait! I know I'd love both books, something tells me.

    I have friends who love Sawyers' mysteries, and the only 2 titles I have read I have liked too. My used book store has many of her titles, so I have quite a pile always there, because as soon as I open one, the world disappears, and I cannot stop until I finish it. I love Sawyers in the summer by the pool.

    Like

  6. Great list! I'm also reading The Nine Tailors in the detectice category.

    Since I'm from Norway and you mentioned a Swedish author I got interested to know who since I've read my bunch of Swedish crime. You mention in a comment that his name is Dürrenmatt, but Dürrenmatt is Swiss (from Switzerland) not Swedish.

    Like

  7. Sorry for the mistake, it is him, Swiss. What do you think about him?
    I have the pledge in my shopping cart, but I am still not sure if I will buy it and read it. 🙂

    Like

  8. So many great choices! I struggled with The House of Seven Gables, but that was in college when I had no choice but to read it for a lit class. I bet I would feel differently about it today. Good luck!

    Like

  9. Looks like a great list Silvia! I read The Adventures of Tom Sawyer this year to the kids and it was great! I'm looking forward to the 2016 Challenge as well 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

