April 20th

We had a wonderful weekend. Great company, lovely views, thoughtful lesson on Sunday morning. And we came back to our daily routines.

I am resolved to look at my days and what I need to do as blessings.

 

  • I am revising Stephanie’s course, Charlotte Mason de manera fácil. I have only revised lesson 1, but it is a beginning. I should be able to do two lessons at least per week. I love reading this course again. She has her lessons always end with many quotes from Charlotte Mason’s work.
  • I am preparing the lesson for our ladies’ Bible class in June
  • Last week of June, the girls have a weeks length morning class at church. It indicates also the beginning of their new class grade. After this week they are promoted to next year class. I don’t like calling this classes VBS because they are not in the spirit of ‘drop of/church summer-camp/snacks/t-shirt/fun-cute-activities with a christian theme in the background’, but plain old lessons from the Scriptures, with Christ in the forefront. The adults study the same topics for the week in the auditorium,  the children in their classrooms, the teens in theirs, and we all get together for prayer and singing. Just an extension of what we always do (read, listen, learn from the Word).
  • I am also signed up to teach the 2nd/3rd grade class for next term, July/August/September
  • I will go to two retreats:
    – one with my sisters in Christ on July 9th – 11th- a Texas Hill Country retreat with Charlotte Mason moms on July 30th – August 1st. This one I’m planning with Heather
  • I am translating Judy’s book along with my friend Lucia
  • In May, I will be reading a book by a dear friend, and as I’m able, I will also be involved in translating this one. This is one of my most desired projects, but it will be a secret for a few more weeks, until she announces its publishing.
  • I’ve just begun working on next year schedules and lesson plans for my girls
  • I’m still working on the home, a bit more decluttering, and I want to paint a couple of mats, and my bathroom cabinet trims…

Having health and all this nice projects to do, is such a blessing. I’m fortunate not to have deadlines for the big projects, to have friends who are moms too, and who understand God and family come first in that order.

These two pictures are a sample of how my friends’ garden looks. The first one is one of their roses trellis, the second it’s their entrance. It’s full of Indian paintbrush flowers.

5 comments on “April 20th

  1. So glad you had a wonderful weekend! How's it going getting back into the swing of routine? We're starting a new routine this week. It will probably take us several weeks to get into the routine of this new routine. 🙂 And guess what? Part of that routine is starting back with where we left off in Year 1 of AO! I'm so excited. And then I'll be looking to plan Year 2 before too long.

    Hope you have a wonderful week!

    Like

  2. I'm so glad you are back into AO.
    We are a bit behind (I had an unexpected root canal done today), but Lord willing, we will finish y2 and y4 at the end of May. I got to keep planning for the new year! 🙂

    Like

  3. Yuck…a root canal…no fun. Yes, I'm glad to be back with AO. We're behind a bit too with the AO readings since we stopped for awhile and used other resources. But I think we should be able to make it up pretty quickly and be ready for Year 2 this Fall (or sooner). So you have one finishing up Year 2 this year, right? Did you all do any of the Year 2 Free reads? If so, which ones would you recommend buying? I know I can read a good selection of books on my e-reader…but I just prefer to buy the books if I can. I much rather have the book versus reading on my e-reader. 🙂

    Like

  4. We have read all of these:

    Heidi
    The Five Little Peppers and How They Grew
    Hans Christian Andersen Fairy Tales
    Pied Piper of Hamlin
    Five Children and It
    Little House on the Prairie
    Farmer Boy
    The Story of Doctor Dolittle
    Mary Poppins
    Brighty of the Grand Canyon
    Mr. Popper's Penguins
    Otto of the Silver Hand
    Chanticleer and the Fox
    The Door in the Wall

    I will not miss Heidi, Little House and Farmer Boy, The Door in the Wall, and my girls loved Brighty of the Grand Canyon.. Pied Piper is a long poem but short read, don't miss it either! Oh, and Five Children and It was liked too.

    Buying (I believe you have the Little House books), Brigthy should not be expensive and it's adorable, Heidi is a good one to own, The Door in the Wall is wonderful, and Five Children and It (we have The Wonder Book, and The Wheel in the School, and I know they are fabulous, but we have not gotten to read them yet… too many free reads! :))

    Like

  5. It was not The Wheel in the School, that's a y3 read by the same author of Along Came a Dog, that's the y2 free read… I started it and got to the middle of it, but I read it in Spanish and they did not click at the time, but he is such a sweet author… we should try one of these two again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

