Renewed

So many thoughts I want to share…
I am rethinking my reading. Not to sound snob, but my comfort or pleasure reading are books like Fortunata and Jacinta, The Odyssey -in the Butler’s Spanish translation-, and these days, whenever I finish a book, I’m trying to be selective and careful about which title to pick next. I don’t mean sometimes one cannot enjoy a light-light novel or novella, I do, but lately I was in need of a renewal, specially for my spiritual growth. Though I don’t like the “how to-light devotional” books either, I took upon a couple of titles suggested by lovely friends, and ordered two books I know I’d benefit from. (I will let you know more about it as the books come and I start reading them).
I’m also back to something called the Horner’s system for reading the Bible. You read 10 chapters everywhere in the Bible everyday. I have the bookmarks in two Bibles, but the lovely part was when I found an application for my recently acquired smart phone. You can tell the application to “catch up” (though with the bookmarks in physical Bibles, you move them when you read). And I am also thinking that, if you want, you can read from 5 chapters a day, the other 5 another. You can also customize the plan.
Let me show it to you so you can visualize it.
Ah, all this it’s IF you are looking for a revamping in your Bible reading, IF you want to try a different way, that’s all. Some read slowly from a book at a time, but, after using Charlotte Mason methods for school books with the girls for 4 years, I have come to love reading small chunks of several books every week, during months. That makes the ideas we get from each book converse among themselves. If you look at the books in the Bible this way, there’s advantages about reading from several books of the Bible at a time (but it does not have to be 10 either).
This was exactly my point, I agree with his reasons for dropping the plan. In one way, he “slaved” the plan to his needs, and that’s what I plan to do (or I’m doing). Because I’m also reading some days from the phone plan, others from my Spanish Bible, others from my English Bible. I don’t have a goal of reading through this plan every day of the year, I only want Spiritual nourishment, and personal growth and increase in motivation.
The visual, from this website
As you can see, Acts is on its own, so, if say you’d like to read every day a chapter of John, you could move Acts to where John is (#1 block), or “add” the book or section you are focusing on (or even memorizing). Or reduce the number of books to 5 each day, or even 3 each day… the possibilities are endless.
After all, we don’t read to win badges, or just to rush through the Word, but we approach it as Psalm 1 tells us,
Psalm 1
1 Blessed is the one
    who does not walk in step with the wicked
or stand in the way that sinners take
    or sit in the company of mockers,
2 but whose delight is in the law of the Lord,
    and who meditates on his law day and night.
3 That person is like a tree planted by streams of water,
    which yields its fruit in season
and whose leaf does not wither—
    whatever they do prospers.
4 Not so the wicked!
    They are like chaff
    that the wind blows away.
5 Therefore the wicked will not stand in the judgment,
    nor sinners in the assembly of the righteous.
6 For the Lord watches over the way of the righteous,
    but the way of the wicked leads to destruction.
Today we had our first day of a Gospel Meeting where I congregate. Let me tell you THIS is exactly what I needed. How blessed we are to have different preachers (this time we have an experience man with long years at God’s service) come to us and share their “conversations” and discerning from the Word to help us regain some new motivation, to renew our faith, or to take care of anything that needs our attention.
Leave a Reply

Up ↑

