Take a Peak!

This gladiolus (from Latin, gladius, which means sword), came up as another surprise, right by the sunflower we never planted. It probably came from some bulbs my husband planted some time ago. Such an arresting beauty.

Our sunflower is growing seeds. It reminds me of my summers in Spain, at my uncle’s chalet, where we ate from his garden fresh tomatoes, peppers, onion, zucchini. And from the nearby gardens, we will buy watermelons, melons, and get a sunflower and eat those raw seeds.

In Spain we love pumpkin and sunflower seeds. We buy them roasted, salted, and in packs, and we eat them as we walk, or talk, or play cards, or board games, or while we read, or lay in hammocks, pool chairs, or the grass, in those lazy summer afternoons and evenings.

I told a friend recently that I am American now, by heart and allegiance. But I cannot deny I was born in Spain, nor am I renouncing my heritage at.all, 🙂 I have been in Texas most of my adult life, and I embrace American values and work ethics, but Europe, -Malta and Spain-, are my husband and my own birth countries, and at home in Texas, you can see traces of our roots and how we are blending it all into who we are now.

My husband is a proud Anglophile. After all, Malta was a British colony for years. He loves his cuppa, and black tea -no pekoe tea, or blends- is his favorite, with a bit of cream.

The cookies are British style Digestive, and Maria from Spain. Our local supermarket makes them or imports them both now, and that makes up for a good price!

You can see my transition from being a coffee drinker in Spain, to being a loyal tea drinker in all its forms. As a Texan, I love my unsweetened iced tea, and so does my girls and husband. As a converted Anglophile myself, and a Star Trek fun, I love my earl grey tea. I also like green tea, and black flavored tea. I drink tea as is, no cream or sugar.

This is a big time treat we bought for ourselves, to enjoy in a day to be determined yet, 🙂 They have nothing but tea and naturally brewed in flavor, no sugar, no added anything. It is a zero calorie drink, just tea. I will come back and tell you if it tasted as pretty as it looks.

I believe it is my love for languages, and for English, and my homeschooling the girls with Charlotte Mason and Ambleside Online, that showed me the path into British literature. I always come back to the golden era of British literature. The book you see is The Headmistress, by Angela Thirkell. More about it soon!

Bovril. I laughed at the mention of a bottle of Bovril when I read After You, Marco Polo, by Jean Shor. I think they stopped selling here in the States because of the mad cow disease? I also cannot donate blood since I lived 9 months in London. My husband cannot donate blood either since he also has visited England in many occasions.

Tunisian oil. Doesn’t it look beautiful, that horse? It looks kind of Trojan to me. Branston. That is a pickled chutney of sorts, very British too. It is served with any meat. Texas Brew, chipotle salsa… it cannot get any better than this.

Here you have some of the hot teas I love, and for chocolate, Lindt or any European brand will do!

In case you wonder what I do instead of hot coffee and vanilla ice-cream floaties, or soda with vanilla ice-cream floaties, I can share with you the grown up European version of those traditional treats. Earl grey tea, with a scoop of intense white chocolate ice-cream. I kind of feel like preparing myself one just now to show you! But it is not the time to fully savor it. I enjoyed one this past Friday, and after having been close to two months walking-running with my lovely neighbor and friend three times a week, and after having been watching what I eat for a couple of weeks, it tasted fantastic.

Watermelon. We all love watermelon. And it also seems to be a Southern thing! My girls, GRITS, -girls raised in the south-, love it. Once again it reminds me of my summers at my uncle’s place, when watermelon was always seeded, and we ate it in the open with juice running down our mouth to our elbows.

Do you recognize this soap? Another British iconic soap, and the only soap my husband uses. Good thing we spotted a store that sells it, but not always, thus the stock he keeps under his bathroom sink.

Leave a Reply

