Too much will kill ya!

Should have known that I only have one life, readings that need to happen (whether it’s God’s Word, or the readings I do for the girls’ studies), should have known… but I ignored the warnings, burst into 2014 with a wanna read book list that only grew up by the minute,

and

now

I

am

DROWNING in it!

Help!

Let’s put some order.

It looks like I will be reading the last 200 pages of Vanity Fair for the rest of my life. Fair enough with me. But I want to know how it ends.

I picked up The Perfect Score, by Debbie Stier, and I am enjoying every bit of it. It is not a big load, it will be read soon.

And here is when the books that are making me drawn come in,

The King’s General, by Daphne du Maurier. It is fascinating, but I ordered Jamaica Inn, because Jeanne offered to wait for me and read it together… and, how could I refuse? Jamaica Inn will have to be started as soon as it hits home.

I read Three Men in a Boat, to say nothing of the dog, and I got a new book based on it, To Say Nothing of the Dog, by Connie Willis, but it happens that my friend Heather, who recommended me the first title by Jerome K. Jerome, and to whom I recommended the second title by Willis, has read both, and tells me there is YET one more book to have read to enjoy Willis’ book, and that is The Moonstone, by Wilkie Collins, which I started this weekend, and which is truly captivating.

But it gets better, I mean, worse! Heather suggested reading The Eyre Affair, by Jasper Fforde, and tells me Jane Eyre is a MUST, which would not have been a problem since I am listening to it in audio format after having read it a long time ago.

And as if I did not have a queue of great titles to read, I took another break and read these short essays by Jonathan Swift, before I ever get to yet another classic mentioned in Jane Eyre, Gulliver Travels. I got to read (they are short reads),

A Modest Proposal (wow, I don’t know what to say, just read it, it is a mere 23 pages or so),

A Tale of a Tub (ingeniously funny),

and The Battle of the Books, where at least, some of the authors mentioned ring a bell, and which was a good read, but definitely, A Modest Proposal was the most strange and captivating satire of these three.

When one is adept to books about books, the reading list grows out of proportion… I will have to relax and get at it little by little, seizing opportunities to read along with others as they come!

Leave a Reply

