Longitude, by Dava Sobel

The next give away at Books Complicity will be Longitude, by Dava Sobel. I have a new policy, if you have the book, SIGN UP for the give away. I can always send you a bookmark or another title from a list I will privately email you.

 

 

These two bookmarks below are going to the first two ladies who signed up for the past give away.

 

The bookmark above of the boy and a dog, from the book The Kingdom by the Sea, by Robert Westall, is for Diana, mother of boys.

 

This second bookmark, from the book Ballet Shoes, by Noel Streatfeild, is for Denzel, mother of girls.

HOW TO PARTICIPATE? Easy,

Leave a comment on this post,
or leave a comment at Books Complicity Blog

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS:
 
#1. Denzel
#2. Carol
#3. Hwee
#4. Zoozees
#5. Brandy

 

8 thoughts on “Longitude, by Dava Sobel

  1. I saw the Longitude book at a book store about two weeks ago and made a mental note to get a copy. What a great timing! Thank you for your generous offer.

    Like

  2. Carol. Thanks for signing up. In the event you win and since you have the book, you will choose something else.

    Hwee, good luck to you too. You are in for a chance to win it.

    A bit later I will start adding the list of participants to the post.

    Like

  3. Oh, me! Pick me! 🙂

    Jeanne was just telling me that this should be our next book, so you are right on time. Either way, you reminded me I should read this to my children, and soon. 🙂

    Like

  4. Oh, Brandy. You two are so blessed to have met each other. One day I would love to meet you, her, or other dear blogger friends. But now it is YOUR TIME. So, enjoy it (which I know you are doing).

    Best luck to you for the book give away. I will announce the winner next week.

    (I have been silently reading your blog and Jeanne, and Amy's, for Latin. I finished Climbing Parnassus, and I believe my faulty education was redeemed by the Latin and Greek I took in HS. At the time the curriculum was closer to a classic curriculum. Multiculturalism and modern ideas were unknown. We memorized; multiplication tables, Latin declinations and vocabulary, etc. And even when one may not remember much of it, I concur with Lee Simons that it is what this teaching does to your mind, and not the facts or content we remember. But one cannot say when the content starts to matter to each of us as an incidental pleasure. While engaged in this disciplinary or formal learning, the pleasure that comes from reading or translating even just a sentence from Virgil, or Plato, overtakes you by surprise. I can read (and I do at times), the Bible in Latin, and understand some paragraphs in full (if I know them in Spanish or English well, especially), or at least know well what it is about I am reading. And that is such a fulfilling experience. My Greek is more rusty. I will need a bilingual version of whatever book I am trying, and The Odyssey is intimidating. But, who knows? Maybe I should find a book that has some fragments, even a New Testament. It will surely be so nice to embark on this with the girls when the time comes.

    Like

  5. I am just amazed that you were able to study Latin and Greek in your education! You are surely blessed, Slivia! I love hearing stories like yours because it encourages me to keep plodding along. My church is starting a training school for adults in ministry and it will teach Greek. My hope is that my oldest and I can take it together. I would love to feel the same delight about a Greek New Testament as I do when attempting sentences out of the Vulgate!

    Like

  6. The blessed one was that little girl walking by cloisters (claustros)! LOL.

    I was blessed too. My HS education was better by far than college. The teachers in HS were not the intellectualoid pop star types I had at UNI (we call it uni in Spanish too, like Jeanne!) At college, only the exception were old school honorable teachers. At HS literature, we read Cervantes, Quevedo, El Cantar del Mio Cid, and that, I am realizing, is the equivalent to Shakespeare, Beowulf. We had some music and art. We were taken to museums, and we were made to play an instrument, even if it was the recorder. We put plays every season, we illustrated Bible accounts, and did some handicrafts in the afternoons. Only thanks to that I can try to tackle the English cannon and path to Parnassus. Though I have to tell you, uff, it is steep! But utterly rewarding too.

    Your son and you will love the Greek class. He is climbing Parnassus with determination and a resolute gait. I know he has that talent and work ethic so needed in men today. I am glad to know many moms are cultivating, not just educating, the leaders of tomorrow (if only in their homes, though I know their leadership will go further). That gives me hope.

    Heather taught us 12 lessons of beginning Hebrew, and it was amazing -in the full sense of that word- to hear some parts of Genesis in that language. My girls will forget all that, I know, but they will always remember the experience, as I remember my Latin and Greek times. The youngest was a bit too young, but those lessons made a good dent. When she finished them, she came up reading English in a beginning yet fluent way! ha! And the best, they learned that those ancient languages hold the key to our past, and that any time and effort spent in learning them, bears a sweet fruit.

    I am glad that we and our children do not see these languages as boring, not useful, or intimidating and only for a minority. We ALL SHOULD attempt to climb Parnassus, that is the true equality, the opportunity to work hard and the dignity of aspiring to the highest goals. That only a minority will plant a flag at the top, far from unjust, is quite comforting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

