What’s on your nightstand?

More than a year ago I remember Melisa Willey talking about another author who said she was guilty of too much flirting with and lack of fidelity to finishing one at a time. The writer of the first post that Melisa commented about proposed to commit to a book and finish it before starting others. This thought got me thinking. At times I only have a book or two. There are books I musht finish, I want to read them from cover to back, and it is unlikely I start something else until I manage to read the last page. But most times I have a juicy pile (is juicy OK applied to books, Jeanne?, 🙂 on my nightstand, and some of those books travel daily downstairs and back upstairs.

My pile:

My dear friend Marina gifted me with Bill Bryson’s Shakespeare. I am midway there and it is highly recommendable. I cannot wait to read Shakespeare. I hope it happens soon and for all. My plan is reading Lamb’s Shakespeare, then watching a play on TV or Youtube, (not much live Shakespeare here in Houston that I know of!), and then… drum-roll please… THE ORIGINALS.

I am enjoying A Year with Chesterton, and I got a few days ago Is That a Fish in your Ear? (I apologize, I do not know what to capitalize in titles, if just the names as in German, or anything other than prepositions… We in Spanish do only capitalize the first letter of the title, which is easier). I am enjoying this book profusely. If you like language and words this is your book.

The pile on the right has Imprimis. Terrific October issue, you can read it here too. Under there is a Reina Valera 1960 Bible, and a Good Will Store finding, A Treasury of Parables, by Edward J. Bartek, in which he teaches us the unified principles of thought that govern our minds through stories or parables.

His introduction was reavealing. Here you have a quote:

Unless the integration and unity of knowledge is achieved the impotence of knowledge and the disintegration of our civilization is anticipated, if not already apparent. Only a universal and eternal method of thought, and universal and eternal standards and values in education, can prevent social disintegration and reaffirm social unity.

The story, its facts, and its conclusions are only the tools by which to achieve insight into unified principles. (…) They are but tools to grasp insight into unified principles.

Some benefits to be derived from acquiring these unified principles can be as follows:
A means to grasp the spiritual and intellectual wisdom which are missing elements in our materialistic, sensory age of science.
A means to the source of knowledge which enables the supply of proven answers to simplify the most complex and abstract problems.
 (I stop here but his list continues)

Reading Brandy’s blog and heading to vote, I have realized I am nominated this year for best method blog at the HOMESCHOOLING POST BLOG. Last year I was nominated too in a couple categories. I know for sure I will not win, what I like about the awards is that I always discover new and interesting blogs myself and you may do that too. Here is the link to the main list.

3 thoughts on “What’s on your nightstand?

Add yours

  1. Congratulations on the nomination!

    I have a stack of books that is being neglected on my nightstand right now. Among the books found there is Charles Dickens' Old Curiosity Shop. I've read it before and want to read it again. I just can't find the time.

    I'm reading McClister's commentary on Hebrews. I've been trying to read it for about 6 months. It's taken so long because I keep getting sidetracked. I'm almost finished though.

    I have never read an original Shakespeare play. My boys have thanks to a dear friend and our Shakespeare teacher at co-op. They love it. You need to check out Shakespeare in the Park at Miller Outdoor Theater in August. I've heard it's great and would like to go sometime.

    Like

  2. Diana. We should meet and exchange books. I am curious about commentary on Hebrews. You have just reminded me of the threebooklets I have by James M. Tolle from his Mature Adult Studies, Prayer, The Seven Churches of Asia, and Notes on Philippians.

    Once finished I recommend Bryce. He gives you a detailed and well narrated account of what we know and don't about Shakespeare, life, politics, culture. It is very well researched, written, and it truly makes you want to read Shakespeare.

    Aren't CM coops great? I believe those who love and know Shakespeare can pass that love to our children well. And I should have known not to be so biased about Houston… The Miller Outdoor! I went recently to see The Sound of Music sing along, it was wonderful. We could only attend the first half, it went way late into the night, but it was quite nice. So I will stay alert and go in August or when they are showing the next Shakespeare play. It would be lovely to go with you and then worship together.

    Hugs,

    Like

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

