I urge you to read…

A book that will make you think and laugh and that will become and instantaneous favorite. You won’t believe it, you would have heard bad press about it. You may think you need other books to understand it, or other commentaries on it. They may discourage you, or you may yell at me (please do if you think I’m crazy, but don’t ignore the recommendation or you’ll be sorry). You may believe it’s over your abilities… But you are WRONG. There is a way you can read this book without having to analyze it or understand all the ramifications. It is written in a style that is not cultivated anymore, but the language is at your capacity, I’m sure.I’ve read heavier weight books and I was always intimidated by this one without a reason. This book shouldn’t be condemned as a book for an elite, but it should be in the most read lists, if we could see beyond our noses of the ‘new’, flashy and most of the times trashy.

I’m envisioning a new force of mommas and housewives avidly reading:

PLATO,

The Republic,

Yes, give it a try. I was laughing hard with Thrasymachos talking to Socrates. It’s written in a dialogue form, very dynamic, fun and catchy. And if you don’t have a copy of it, you may get one for some cents or FREE HERE. Believe me.

3 thoughts on “I urge you to read…

Add yours

  1. Trust me on this one. You'll enjoy the dialogue format much, it's like a conversation with different and interesting people, and you'll like Socrates, I do, his questioning is very sharp.
    When I read Great Expectations, I laughed hard at some moments, but I totally never expected to be laughing at the exchange between Thrasymachos and Socrates. I'm not a native English speaker or reader, and I find Shakespeare more challenging than Plato. I need to start with Lamb before. I'm glad that you are determined to go through your pile, but why do you need to get rid of the books after? Or at least the not so good, but then why do you want to read not so good books? You can always turn them for credit for more books, ha ha ha.

    Like

  2. I mean that I have NOT READ SHAKESPEARE because that's truly difficult to me and I found The Republic to be more approachable than I expected it to be.

    Like

  3. I have the Republic but I've never read it. Last year after we read Plutarch's life of Dion, in which Plato figures largely, we decided to read his “Seventh Letter” which he wrote to Dion's family to explain the circumstances of his death. That part of it is sad, but the letter was delightful so full of wisdom, good humor, and kindness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

