MEP, Interactive Materials for Y3 and up

IF YOU HAVE CHILDREN BETWEEN 5 AND 14, IT MAY BE OF INTEREST TO READ THIS POST!

Preparing for next year (or so I thought), I realized we are missing the second half of Year 1. Maggie at An Old Fashioned Education, recommends Y2 of MEP for first grade, which will be AO year 1. Not for us. We will be finishing Y1, and most likely starting Y2 in the middle of AO1. I prefer this pace and to do other things in the middle than to push my girl to do something she is not developmentally prepared for. And it may be too that she does not do well with MEP, in which case we will see what we do. I am not fitting my daughter into a program, but the other way around. But for now, I am not switching either since it is not needed, and MEP is a complete and cohesive program. Even if you do the problems orally, or with manipulatives, you do not have to follow it to the letter. At least that is my take. I want them to learn the concepts, not to fill the worksheet and move on.

But this post it is to tell you that MEP has levels from R (reception) till Y9, with additional materials for statistics and advanced math. I did not look well, but from Y3 there are two choices, to print the problems in paper, or to use  INTERACTIVE MATERIALS and have the student fill the problems on the computer.

I hope it helps!

Leave a Reply

