A Favorite, A Resolution, and A Word

Playing Candy land on a lazy afternoon

We have a new FAVORITE, THE HUNGRY THING. I found the book but it did not have the first page. Fortunatelly, at Amazon they had the Search Inside This Book feature, and the only page from the book you could read was… yes… the FIRST ONE (insert relief sigh). I was able to add the page to the book with the words from this charming story.

We also got a copy of MORRIS HAS A COLD, which was fun to read and reminded us of, who else, Amelia Bedelia, of course. I have added to my reading pileThe Read-Aloud Handbook, and I will post about it as time permits.


A Resolution: That is to go back to coming to the computer on Wednesday nights, Thursdays and Fridays. That worked for me to have a good balance of getting blogging and screen time out of my system while at the same time not disconnecting from YOU completely. Some consecutive days of no computer give me focus and refresh me too.

A Word. Many of you picked a word at the beginning of the year. Some just picked it a month ago. I have had this word at the back of my mind since the beginning of the year, but never properly committed to it. The word is LISTEN.I need to do a much better job at listening. I always feel I have something so interesting, intense, great to say… but it is not like that. As we all know and I read often, God gave us two ears and one mouth for a reason, but I do not seem to acknowledge that fact. Well, I am going to try and I am going to learn to listen more this year. First and foremost I will LISTEN to God, then to my family and friends, and to myself. I know I can do this.

 

Leave a Reply

