How to change your TEMPLATE LAYOUT from hundreds of free ones

If you are like me, you love to move furniture, redecorate, change the looks of things and of yourself. And I’m NOTORIOUS for always changing the look of my blogs. However I played and tried different things and I’m very pleased with the current look of this blog.

I like the fact it has three columns, it works better for me since I have the blog pretty loaded with links to different resources. I like the navigation banner to different pages and I know how to change the color of the background or add a different background to change it with the seasons. I think it will stay a bit longer with this display, but I don’t warranty anything 😉

I’ll tell you how to change your blogger blog to any of the FREE BLOG DESIGNS FOR BLOGGER you can choose from. Many are very pretty to look at by themselves, but blogs are like furniture, you may like the piece at the furniture store or catalog, and it may not jive with your blog content and needs. However back to the point, to change blog template

*first you go to your blog, to the HTML. There save your current template. It will go most likely to your documents, downloads. You may have an option to rename it then, name it something you can remember like my current “x” blog.

*Then where it says PICK A NEW TEMPLATE from the few blogger options, go back to MINIMA, the first one, it’s easier to change to a new from that basic one.

* Choose one of these free blogs and download it for free. Open the blog folder. It may save as a compacted file and you need to extract or unzip the files from it. Once you extract the files that compose the new template you will see one that will be the name of the template and it will say XTML document. Back to your HTML page, you choose upload new template and browse for that document to upload.

* Then you’ll see a red list with your widgets, it’ll ask you: Do you want to keep this widgets? Click YES. View Blog and you should see your new design. It may be the case you get some duplicated items, don’t panic, just delete the empty widgets. You may also get things out of place, don’t panic, just rearrange.

* If you don’t like the picked template, back to MINIMA and try a different one. If you don’t like any of the new templates you are trying, go back to your old blog and things will be the same.

You can create a trial blog to see if you can change that one from MINIMA to one of the new designs before trying to do this with your real one.

If your new template has a navigation bar like mine and you don’t know how to tweak that, you can ask me and I’ll write further steps on how to make it point to your own pages.

If you dare with s ome serious tweaking of the HTML code, THESE ARE THE BEST TUTORIALS I have found. Everything I’ve tried has worked (some things have driven me nuts for a bit, but I’ve always solved the challenges). With those tutorials I’ve added signatures, changed the comments box, gotten rid of the ugly box you get when you click on a label, etc.

Hope it works.

6 comments on “How to change your TEMPLATE LAYOUT from hundreds of free ones

  1. I really enjoyed your article,It has been extremely helpful,The information provided by you is very good.For that I need to say that I am very grateful to the information you share through your blog. good luck with you.

    Like

  2. This is great, Silvia! I like the look of my blog, but I ADORE the three-column format, so I may have to change after all. Your post makes me itch to get started. 🙂

    Like

  3. I really enjoyed your article,It has been extremely helpful,The information provided by you is very good.For that I need to say that I am very grateful to the information you share through your blog. good luck with you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

