My schedule revised- Nov. 2010

– NovLast year I posted what was going to be our schedule for 2010, from January. I’m going to revisit it and write in blue color what was done, not covered and such.

This is our tentative schedule for the incoming year. I firmly believe children under 6 do not need to be educated following the school format, but that doesn’t mean at all they won’t be given any structure or that they won’t be doing any learning. These early years are for habit formation, spiritual and emotional development, and with that, academic growth comes natural to children. This schedule is a guidance for me to help me during this 2010. I hope it also helps and inspires you too. I still believe all I wrote. From five to six and three to almost four, my girls have learned habits, still have more to keep working at, and we have grown spiritually and emotionally, though I don’t say this with complacency to stop working. 

Combining Ambleside online Year 0, her Year 0.5, with an Old Fashioned Education, I’ve come up with these schedule:

* Bible:
~ Spanish Bible. YES, we have studied and learned from it.
~ King James Bible (on tape). I’ve been listening to the Bible on tape, they haven’t.
~ Taylor Bible story book, Our Spiritual Heritage, and books related to
our topics from the library and home. Yes to Taylor Bible, and to some materials from Our Spiritual Heritage. NO to their main book, the themes are out of order and don’t go with our lessons at our Sunday and Wednesday classes making it difficult to follow. 
~ Hymns and songs of praise. YES, YES, YES, we’ve learned new hymns and continue listening to many in the car and singing at home.
~ Memory work. YES to the OT and NT books of the Bible and some other. More to improve reading PSALMS and PROVERBS frequently.

* Arithmetic:
~ Centre for Innovation in Mathematics Teaching, MEP primary year 1. HALF WAY. We are currently back using MEP and liking it. However I’m not in a rush for I plan to use year 1 next fall when we start AO year 1 as well.

~ Living Math books and games. Ideas at http://www.livingmath.net. YES and still learning to incorporate more living math books into our regular diet.

* Language Arts:
~ McGuffey’s Eclectic Primer (I’ll give it a try since I got it from a friend). NO. It did not work with my oldest, or not yet. I LOVE the McGuffey’s books. However we’ve used nursery rhymes and other readers. 
~ I’ll continue with Charlotte Mason ideas for reading. For more on this, read Kathy’s article.  ~ Handwriting. Gentle introduction through sand writing, letter formation, etc. YES. We practice handwriting and copy work, but we’ve done this gently.

* Literature:
~ Lang’s fairy books, The real Mother Goose, Poetry (this list for a reference, and Spanish poetry for children I have). NO the mentioned above. We are using the Grimm brothers collection in Spanish.
~ Gloria Fuertes cuentos para 365 dias (Spanish short stories by classic poet and children’s
author). We read a bit earlier in the year. See, I forgot I have this book. I’ll pull it to incorporate some readings.

* Science:
~ Kids Nature Book and nature walks, and Monarch butterfly project. NO to kids nature book, YES nature walks, NO monarchs project yet.
~ The Insect Folk by Margaret Warner Morley. No, we’ll see when I get the kindle in January and I can put all these books if more are used.

I haven’t done any of the readings below but I have no regrets. We’ll start on the Burgess books soon and the other two, The History of Insects, and The Bird Woman…we’ll see.

~ The History of Insects
~ The Burgess Animal Book by Thorton Burgess (The bird one I’ll use in Year 1 with AO).
~ Flower Fairies/ Burgess Flower Book
~ Animal stories, by Joel Chandler Harris and/or Brer Rabbit by same author.

* Biography:
~ The Bird Woman of the Lewis & Clark Expedition, by Katherine Chandler

* History/Social Studies:
~ Books from library, 1 or 2 per week. YES. We’ve learned from other cultures through books.

* Health, Habits, Handicrafts, Physical Education, and Life skills:
~ Soup should be seen not heard. YES, and now we are working on a book for CONSUMERS for kids (that we grown ups should read too).
~ Cook together a meal once a week. YES
~ Work on habit formation and chores. YES
~ Continue with art and craft projects. YES
~ Park play and regular exercise. YES

* Art and Music: follow the AO suggested painters and composers. Half way. We are listening to music much more, but we haven’t followed the art study very well. That’s my area to improve.

I’ve also created a 40 week schedule similar to THIS by Maggie (from an old fashioned education), in which there is a weekly reading assignment sort of what Sonlight does. I hope my list helps you figure out your own, or inspires you to build your own curriculum guidance. Remember Mrs. Beechick, curriculum should be our servant, we shouldn’t be slaved by it. There are a lot of free resources, as Maggie says, the hard part is to choose between all. And as always, if something it is not working, change, tweak, and change some more. Adjust your plans and resources to your child, not vice-verse.
I haven’t really followed that 40 week schedule very closely, we’ve done a lot in a more relaxed way. We’ve followed a more open weekly schedule I’m filling in the weekends when I don’t come to the computer. This is still a good guideline for others, however the schedule was VERY LOADED, and we’ve done things more sparingly than daily or even weekly. I’m amazed though of all that we’ve accomplished this last year. I’m looking forward to almost another full year before September when we’ll continue learning together.

Sincerely,
Silvia.

(If you want to download it or view it in word with active links, click here!)

Leave a Reply

